A NSW Government website

Town Water Risk Reduction Program

Stakeholder Advisory Panel

This program leverages the wealth of expertise within councils, local water utilities and relevant government agencies.

Aerial from a drone flying over the Menindee Lakes Weir.


The establishment of the Panel for the Program is one of the core components of this partnership approach.

What is the Stakeholder Advisory Panel?

A central element of the Town Water Risk Reduction Program is a partnership approach which aims to recognise and leverage the wealth of expertise within councils, local water utilities and relevant government agencies. The team will utilise the Stakeholder Advisory Panel (the Panel) to advise, help design, facilitate and refine the program and to identify broader engagement opportunities.

The purpose of the Panel is to be a forum for key sector stakeholders and regulators to:

  • sense-check the Program’s scope, approach and progress
  • provide direction and feedback on the Program’s strategic approach, risks and overall engagement approach as well as high-level policy issues
  • be a sounding board for the Program team on issues that cannot be resolved in more focused stakeholder working groups, e.g. because they raise higher-level policy questions, are sensitive or relate to multiple focus areas
  • provide advice to the Program team regarding policy and technical issues that the more focused stakeholder working groups should consider.

Read the Terms of Reference (PDF, 147.25 KB)

How can I get involved with the Town Water Risk Reduction Program?

The Program offers opportunities for collaboration and design through a range of workshops, focus teams and working groups which are being established to address the Program focus areas. Further information about collaboration opportunities for interested stakeholders email regional.town.water@dpie.nsw.gov.au.

The Panel

Stakeholder Advisory Panel members are expected to have relevant knowledge and experience in the local water utility sector.

Clr Bill West Mayor, Cowra Shire Council Local Government NSW
Mr Brendan Guiney Executive Officer NSW Water Directorate
Ms Jenny Bennett Executive Officer Central NSW Joint Organisation of Councils (JO member)
Dr Annalisa Contos Principal Atom Consulting (Consultant member)
Mr David Kirby General Manager Brewarrina Shire Council (local water utility manager member)
Mr Aaron Drenovski General Manager Goldenfields Water (County Council member)
Mr Graham Kennett General Manager Kyogle Council (local water utility General Manager member)
Dr Paul Byleveld Manager NSW Health, Water Unit (local water utility regulator)
Mr Peter Marczan Manager, Technical Assessments and Advice Environment Protection Authority (local water utility regulator)
Ms Melissa Gibbs Director DPE – Planning and Assessment/Office of Local Government (local water utility regulator)
Ms Jane Shepherd A/Director DPE – Water,  Water Utility Advisory, Operations & Regulation (local water utility regulator)
Ms Erin Cini Director DPE – Water, Town Water Risk Reduction Program (Chair)

Panel meeting dates

The Panel meets on the fourth Wednesday of every month, meeting dates for 2022 are listed below. Meeting papers will be made available for download after each meeting.

Meeting minutes and presentations 2021

Review the Panel meeting minutes and presentations from 2021.